Twenty years of happily ever after

Yes, dear reader, it was on this date in 1989 that Mrs. Other McCain and I went to the Gordon County Courthouse in Calhoun, Ga., and became man and wife. Probate Judge Johnny Parker presided at the ceremony, with our friends Jim and Dawn McFadden as witnesses. Here is a photo of my lovely bride I took a couple years later:

And here is a photo of me and my bride, taken by my good friend Matthew Vadum, just three days ago:

Can I pick ’em, or what? The reader will observe that Mrs. Other McCain is still just as sexy as ever. OK, so she doesn’t have that cool ’80s big hair anymore. But I don’t have my cool Patrick Swayze mullet anymore, either.

I’ll never forget when Judge Parker said, “forsaking all others, so long as you both shall live.” Wow. Heavy concept. Six kids and 20 years later, I’m thinking I got the best end of this bargain. Don’t you agree?

Then hit the tip jar, so maybe I can take her out to dinner.

Leave a Reply

